Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sat 8/1: Yiddish Fun Bereshis: Yiddish Alphabet Class

When: Saturday, Aug. 1, 2020, 9 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

Where: Online Internet Events, All over the world from, San Diego

Cost: $15 – $75

Age limit: All ages

Description: <p>Yiddish Fun Bereshis (Yiddish from the beginning) is a Yiddish Alef Beys (alphabet) program aimed for those with no prior Hebrew alphabet experience. We start with vowels and add on consonants each week. By the end of the first class, the student will be able to read a number of words/phrases. Each week will build upon the previous week&rsquo;s material, to begin building one&rsquo;s Yiddish vocabulary. This class aims to teach literacy &ndash; the ability to read Yiddish in Yiddish. There will be some elements of grammar and style &ndash; but nothing past a basic/beginner level. Along with &ldquo;doing the work&rdquo; of literacy, we will also learn through culture, idioms, jokes, curses, and of course, song. Be prepared for a lot of Simpsons gifs. This is a one-hundred percent no judgment, no attitude, no shaming classroom environment. SATURDAYS: 9:00 a.m. Pacific Time Zone, 11:00 a.m. Central Time Zone, 12:00 p.m. Eastern Time Zone July 18th, July, 25th, August 1st, August 8th, August 15th, August 22nd First class free, donations accepted at https://www.paypal.me/YAAANA2020 After that, there are five (5) weekly 90 minute sessions. $15/ea or $75 total. Registration: Please email dave@yaaana.com or call 619-719-1776. Zoom link is available upon registration. Due to security reasons, all guests must be registered. Instructor: Dave Fried is a dedicated Yiddishist living in Chicago. His main goal is to see more people speaking Yiddish. He has been teaching beginners Yiddish for almost two years. While not immersed in Yiddish, he likes bike rides, bowling, and eating vegetable lo-mein in the park.</p>


Source: SD Reader


© www.concerts-sandiego.com 2020